Miami Sports Day

FIU, FAU Football Players Named to Preseason All-Conference USA Team

Florida International University seniors Michael Montero, Jonnu Smith and junior Anthony Wint have been named to this year’s 2016 preseason All-Conference USA Football Team, as chosen by the league’s 13 head coaches.  While Trey Hendrickson, a Florida Atlantic University senior defensive end, and senior punter Dalton Schomp have been named Preseason Defensive Player of the Year and Co-Special Team’s Player of the Year, respectively.

“Trey and Dalton have performed at a level that has earned the respect of the coaches in this league,” said Charlie Partridge, FAU’s head football coach. “I am proud that they continue to train in a way that makes them better each day and in a way that will prepare them for senior seasons that all Owl fans can be proud of.”

Hendrickson, who is on the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, will enter his final collegiate campaign after tallying a Conference USA-high 13.5 sacks in 2015. The Apopka native finished No. 2 nationally in sacks and was part of a defense that set the program’s all-time single-season record in sacks at 35.

Hendrickson has played in all 36 games since joining the program in 2013 and has tallied 20 career sacks which places him atop the FAU all-time career sack list. He has recorded a total of 80 tackles, including 27.5 for a loss of 149 yards. Sacks are not the only annoyance for opposing quarterbacks or offenses as Hendrickson has forced seven career fumbles, including two that led to scores in 2015.

Schomp, a member of the Ray Guy Award Watch List, will enter his final collegiate season as the nation’s leader in yards per punt (48.0). The Seminole, Fla. native tallied 22 punts of 60 yards or more and saw opponents return just 16 of his 45 punts, for an average of 7.2 yards per return. His longest punt of the 2015 season was a program-record 76-yarder at UTEP. At season’s end he was named FAU’s Special Teams MVP.

Smith, who has been named to the John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List as well as an Athlon first-team preseason all-conference selection, appeared and started in eight games for the Panthers being named an All-C-USA Honorable Mention selection in 2015.

The Ocala, Fla. native caught 36 passes for 397 yards and four touchdowns. Before missing the final four games due to injury, Smith caught a pass in 32-straight games. Despite missing games due to injury, Smith was second on the team in touchdown catches. He tied a career-high in receptions with 10 versus Old Dominion (Oct. 24), tallying a career-best 183 yards, fourth-most in school history, and two touchdowns versus the Monarchs.

He was named the Mackey Tight End of the Week (Week 8) after his performance versus ODU. Following his junior season, Smith is first at FIU in career catches (136), yards (1,495) and touchdowns (14) by a tight end.

Montero, who has been named to the Rimington Award and Wuerffel Trophy Preseason Watch Lists, started in all 12 games at center for the Panthers, earning Second-Team All-C-USA honors last season. The native of Miami was named game captain three times (at Indiana – 9/12; UTEP – 10/10; Charlotte – 11/7) and was part of an offensive line that helped gained 4,173 yards (fifth-most in school history), including 2,854 through the air (second-most in school history). He helped FIU record a school-record 22 TD passes and 15 rushing TDs (sixth-most in school history).

He also helped FIU produced 518 yards total offense (seventh-most in school history) with 150 yards on the ground and 368 yards through the air versus UTEP. Guiding FIU to over 400 yards of offense six times, Montero aided FIU in scoring multiple TDs on offense in 10 of the team’s 12 games.

Wint, who has been named an Athlon first-team preseason all-conference selection, appeared and started in all 12 games for the Panthers and was named a Second-Team All-C-USA selection in 2015. The Homestead, Florida, native led FIU with 88 tackles (41 solo), ranking No. 16 in C-USA in total tackles. Wint also notched 5.5 TFL, 0.5 sacks, one interception, two pass breakups and two fumble recoveries.

Reggie Bain, a junior offensive lineman, Azeez Al-Shaair, a sophomore linebacker, and sophomore defensive backs Ocie Rose and Jalen Young joined teammates Hendrickson and Schomp on the C-USA preseason all-conference team.

Bain earned a second team spot at the conclusion of the 2015 season while Rose and Al-Shaair, who led the Owls in total tackles and was named USA Today Freshman All-American, earned a spot on the 2015 C-USA All-Freshman Team as did Young, who also was a C-USA Honorable Mention team member.


Offensive Player of the Year
Nick Mullens, Sr., QB, Southern Miss

Defensive Player of the Year
Trey Hendrickson, Sr., DE, Florida Atlantic

Special Teams Player of the Year
Jonathan Barnes, Jr., K, Louisiana Tech
Dalton Schomp, Sr., P, Florida Atlantic

QB Brent Stockstill, So., Middle Tennessee
QB Nick Mullens, Sr., Southern Miss
RB Kalif Phillips, Sr., Charlotte
RB Ray Lawry, Jr., Old Dominion
RB Ito Smith, Jr., Southern Miss
RB Aaron Jones, Sr., UTEP
RB Jarveon Williams, Sr., UTSA
RB Anthony Wales, Sr., WKU
OL Michael Montero, Sr., FIU
OL Reggie Bain, Jr., Florida Atlantic
OL Darrell Brown, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL David Mahaffey, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL Michael Selby, Sr., Marshall
OL Clint Van Horn, Sr., Marshall
OL Maurquice Shakir, Sr., Middle Tennessee
OL Cameron Tom, Sr., Southern Miss
OL Forrest Lamp, Sr., WKU
OL Will Hernandez, Jr., UTEP
TE Jonnu Smith, Sr., FIU
TE Ryan Yurachek, Jr., Marshall
WR Trent Taylor, Sr., Louisiana Tech
WR Richie James, So., Middle Tennessee
WR Zach Pascal, Sr., Old Dominion
WR Taywan Taylor, Sr., WKU

DL Larry Ogunjobi, Sr., Charlotte
DL Trey Hendrickson, Sr., Florida Atlantic
DL Jaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech
DL Gary Thompson, Sr., Marshall
DL Rashaad Coward, Sr., Old Dominion
DL Dylan Bradley, Sr., Southern Miss
DL Nick Usher, Sr., UTEP
DL Marcus Davenport, Jr., UTSA
LB Anthony Wint, Jr., FIU
LB TJ Ricks, Sr., Old Dominion

LB,Al-Shaair, So., Florida Atlantic
LB Alex Lyons, Sr., Rice
LB D’Nerius Antoine, Sr., Southern Miss
LB Alvin Jones, Jr., UTEP
DB Ocie Rose, So., Florida Atlantic
DB Jalen Young, So., Florida Atlantic
DB Xavier Woods, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DB Jeremy Cutrer, Sr., Middle Tennessee
DB Kishawn McClain, Jr., North Texas
DB Justice Davila, Jr., Old Dominion
DB Picasso Nelson Jr., Jr., Southern Miss
DB Michael Egwuagu, Sr., UTSA

Special Teams
K Jonathan Barnes, Jr., Louisiana Tech
P Dalton Schomp, Sr., Florida Atlantic
KR Kylen Towner, Jr., WKU
PR Warren Redix, So., UTEP
LS Darrell Travis, Sr., Louisiana Tech

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *