Miami Sports Day

UNF: Ospreys No. 16 Seed in NCAA Women’s Golf

Photo by UNF

The Atlantic Sun Champion North Florida women’s golf team was tabbed the No. 16-seed in the upcoming Baton Rouge, La., Regional of the NCAA Championship, as announced by the Division I Women’s Golf Committee.

The Ospreys will play at LSU’s University Club on May 5-7. UNF is making the program’s first NCAA Regional appearance in just the fourth season of existence.

“We are extremely excited to have the opportunity to play at the University Club in our NCAA Tournament debut,” said head coach Joanne Berglund. “We know it will be an incredible chance to compete against many of the best teams in the country. It is great to see the girls have their dreams for the program coming true. They all worked hard and have shown great commitment and dedication to this goal. We look forward to getting on the course and representing our program and the Atlantic Sun to the best of our ability.”

Four regional tournaments will be conducted May 5-7 to determine the championships field. Regional tournaments are considered preliminary rounds of NCAA championships competition and all national championships policies apply.

A total of 384 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 132 will advance to the championships finals. Six teams and three individuals will advance from each regional.

The national championships will be May 20-25 at Eugene County Club in Eugene, Oregon, hosted by the University of Oregon. The final three days of the championship will be televised live by the Golf Channel.

The Baton Rouge regional will be played at University Club in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and will be hosted by Louisiana State University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.

1. Duke University
2. University of Florida
3. Arizona State University
4. University of Washington
5. University of Oregon
6. University of South Carolina, Columbia
7. East Carolina University
8. North Carolina State University
9. University of Houston (American Athletic Conference)
10. Brigham Young University
11. Augusta University
12. Louisiana State University
13. University of New Mexico
14. University of Denver (The Summit League)
15. Harvard University (The Ivy League)
16. University of North Florida (Atlantic Sun Conference)
17. Wichita State University (Missouri Valley Conference)
18. Fairleigh Dickinson University, Metropolitan Campus (Northeast Conference)

1. Ashley Holder, University of Central Florida
2. Emma Svensson, University of Central Arkansas
3. Madison Talley, Kansas State University
4. Chieh Jessica Peng, Mississippi State University
5. Ji Eun Baik, Mississippi State University
6. Meghan MacLaren, Florida International University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *